Choosing Your Pathway

pathwayOn my journey to exploring the world of transfer students at UAlbany, I have met transfer students of all ages with varying predicaments. I like to ask them all, “what made you choose to come here?” and I get different answers along the way. Some have come to play a D1 sport, and others have come to try their hand at college one more time. But besides that, what I really wanted to know was how the idea of starting over again affected their choices. I spoke with one sophomore who transferred specifically to play sports. He told me, “Yeah it was always something at the back of my head. I was going to have to start over no matter where I went. But it makes you feel better knowing that they are new people coming here every year besides me –  you know?”

I talked to another sophomore named Sasha who had the opposite case. She had come here because it was a big campus. “My last school was really small.” She tells me, “I had a hard time being involved, so I decided to go to a larger one. If there’s more people, there’s an endless amount for me to connect with.” “How is it going so far?” I asked her. “It’s good. I have a cool group of friends, so starting over ain’t that bad.”

The last person I talked to was a senior name Elijah. He had transferred in beginning of his senior year.  I asked him of what he thought about choosing a pathway. He told me that it took a while to figure out his path. “For about the first month I didn’t know many people. I had this routine for a while but I wasn’t happy. I felt like I didn’t belong here. For a good amount of time I thought that was it. This is what my whole year is gonna be like. After a while you meet people and you realize things do get better, and that was just a phase.”

So despite the idea of starting over, it seemed as if everyone at found their own way of coping with it. Whether they decided to hold their head high and tough it out, or find a way to look at it with an open and optimistic mind. Your journey is what you make it, and everyone’s pathway is not the same. Choose a pathway that works well for you, but keep the negative energy out. The opportunity of starting over allows a clean slate perfect for fostering a positive college experience.


 

About the Author

ChristineChristine Etienne
Class of 2018
Major: Biology
Minor: Psychology
Fall 2015 Blog Theme: Born Again Freshman
Leave a Reply

