Meet Tendrina: Communication & Journalism Major

tendrina

  1. What is your major and why did you choose it?

I’m a double major in communications and journalism. I chose it because of my career aspirations, because of my love for media, and because I’m awful at math and science.

  1. How do people react when you tell them what your major is?

Depends. Most of the time I get a pretty positive reaction because I’m a double major and people tell me that I was meant to work in those fields.

  1. What do people perceive is the most popular or “well-known” career for your major?

Journalist or public relations agent.

  1. What do you think of the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

I think it’s a very loaded question. What does that refer to? What do I want to be professionally? What do I want to be in the eyes of others? What do I want to be in the world? And what does “when you grow up” mean?

  1. How did you answer this question when you were little?

With a career based answer. I shifted between wanting to be a superstar and wanting to be a pediatrician when I was a child.

  1. How have your experiences in college influenced your plans for the future?

I would say it’s taught me my strengths and weaknesses. I know what I can offer professionally. It’s also made me more motivated to accomplish my dreams

  1. What is one of your aspirations that others may perceive as “unrealistic”? Why do you believe it is possible to accomplish this?

In general, my aspirations are just bigger than the average person’s. But I don’t believe in being average for myself. I think people think it’s unrealistic of me to push myself and go completely outside of the world I’m used to. They think I should play it safe.

  1. Who or what else do you credit with influencing your perceptions of what is “possible”? 

My parents, because they’ve done the impossible. But they also live in a “play it safe” state of mind. People who see life the same way I do have also inspired me – driven individuals.

  1. Have you made any plans to achieve your goals and aspirations? What does your plan look like?

I have. I’m going to be working in politics for a bit, which I believe is the basis of many of my career goals. I plan on getting a masters, working a few entry reporter jobs, then work my way up the ranks while working full time on my own brand and a website with my friends.

  1. How were your childhood dreams nurtured?

My parents always told me I could do whatever I wanted. They stressed however that this was only going to be possible with a good education. So hard work was instilled in me very early on.

  1. Do you have any fears about pursuing your path?

The greatest fear I have is not being able to accomplish my goals. I also don’t want to lose who I am or forget about where I came from.

  1. Who/What on or off-campus has helped you to shape your path?

Working with people who are like-minded or even more driven than I am. I’ve also been inspired by the groups I’ve been involved in and some of my supervisors-turned-mentors.

  1. What motivates you?

My parents and my happiness.

  1. Do you have a daily regimen to keep you focused? A mantra?

I try and remain pretty dedicated to my beliefs. I pray daily, and keep in mind that God is always in control. I know that what’s meant for me is for me, and that in due time I can accomplish anything.

  1. What do you want to tell new students trying to pursue their goals?

I want to tell them to stay focused and believe in themselves more than anyone else does. Create a plan that works for you and while it may change a little along the way, you should stick to what you want and go for it.


About the Author:

TiffanyTiffany A. 
Class of 2016 
Major: English (Honors) 
Minor: Women's, Gender, 
and Sexuality Studies 
Blog Theme: Dreams Deferred

Tiffany is also the editor of Eat the Cake Blog. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

