When Home Becomes a Vacation

     Thanksgiving break is soon to come and thank goodness to that. Time to go home for a long weekend and reunite with your family and bed. You’ll finally get the room to yourself, you’ll have a home-cooked meal, and all will be grand. This is when you realize home becomes a vacation.

When you’re at school you are constantly working. Living at your school can be a stressful environment. It can feel as though there is no escape from these papers and exams. When you once wanted to leave home to escape the rules of your household, you now see home as a vacation spot. A place where you don’t have to do school work and you can go back to your part-time job. A place that is familiar and well-known. A place where you can finally sleep in!

This can be a strange concept to grasp, especially if you have been dealing with homesickness. Being home and then leaving it is like breaking up with a partner. It’ll take double the amount of time from being there to feel comfortable again in a new place. If you are home for a week, it will take two weeks to feel comfortable at school again. This can lead many of us to feel like we need to go home for good.

lizhomevacation Believe me, I get it. When home transforms into a vacation spot it can be easy for us to want to stay there indefinitely. I remember in my first semester when I went back home for Spring Break, I cried before going back because I knew I would have to leave this vacation home. My dad consoled me and said, “Look kiddo, remember when you wanted to leave the area so bad?” I nodded my head and protested that I was so wrong. He chuckled and said, “That was because your work was here. Now, your work is not here and it’s there. This won’t be a vacation spot forever. If you still went to school here you would still feel just as trapped with work as you do in Albany.” I wiped my tears and nodded. He was right.

     So think of it is that. Home is like a vacation now, but vacations are meant to be had for finite amounts of time. Take a deep breath and enjoy that vacation moment and be refreshed to start again here. It’s not over yet. You can do this.


img_20160825_083203-002Elizabeth B.
Class of 2018
Major: Communication
Minor: Art
Blog Theme: Homebody for Everybody

 

Please Note: The views of our student bloggers do not necessarily reflect the views of the UAlbany Advisement Services Center. These are their stories and their voices.

Leave a Reply

