Transfer Tuesdays V

TODAY is Transfer Advisement Day! 

WELCOME TO UALBANY

If you are here, please comment below and say, “Hello!”


9a42c81259d79d0ceaea80c392c3cf4aWelcome to UAlbany!

As you are preparing to begin the next leg of your academic journey here, we want to share some useful and fun information to help you transition to your new educational home.

Every Tuesday, we will share one or two personal stories from our transfer students, along with information from advisors that we think would be helpful. 

It is always a great day to be a Great Dane!
The Advisement Services Center Team


Make sure to check out the Welcome Page. The Welcome Page has information about housing, registration, health forms, billing and more. Please MAKE SURE to submit all of your health information before August 1.


Last week, we introduced Jeniva Austin, a Transfer Transition Leader and one of our former MyStory Volunteers. Here is part II of her story:

Jeniva Austin (19).JPG
Jeniva Austin – Picture by Micheal Geroux

The social aspect of college is something people try to make seem unimportant but it plays a bigger role than people like to admit. It is not easy being a new student on campus, and it is even harder being a new student, and going to a school where you do not already have friends. College is not like high school where there may be maybe  just over one hundred students in your grade. It is more like thousands depending on what college you decide to attend. And being a transfer student definitely makes entering a new school so much more complicated. You are not THE new kid but you become just another new kid. Like myself…

As a transfer student, there is a great chance you will be place on Alumni quad. And if you have friends like mine, then you will hear that it really sucks to have to live “off campus.” But what students who are not transfers do not know is that, although Alumni quad is filled with transfer students, and about 10-12 minutes away from the main campus, Alumni quad is for students like me – students like us!  It is for students who come into a school with few  or no friends and not really sure how to get involved. On Alumni quad, they build a community for the transfer student population, and from what I know now, a lot of incoming transfers tend to enjoy living there.

When I first transferred to the University at Albany, I was so excited to have been placed on colonial quad. That meant that I did not have to worry about traveling to the main campus in the morning for class, and I didn’t have to worry about how I would get to take my mini-naps in-between classes. But along with all the pros of living in the main campus quads, there came cons. I was placed in a suite where one triple-room was filled with friends who knew each other from back home, and a roommate who had friends and plans of her own. So as anyone would, I got lonely and kind of annoyed with not having people to go to different events with. This lead to me going home every weekend and a pretty empty bank account due to all of those Trailways tickets I had to buy in order to go back and forth. And let me not forget that, because I usually didn’t have someone to go to the dining hall with, I ordered out VERY often during the week. So my first semester at UAlbany was not the best, but being able to realize that I wanted to be involved, helped me make my spring semester so much more worth transferring here.

In the spring, I got hired as a resident assistant and managed to make a few friends and even go out with people, I would not, normally, hang with on a regular day. I stopped going home every weekend and started to enjoy being in Albany more. I  even applied to be a Transfer Transition Leader (TTL), and got the job! A TTL is a resource for transfers, helping them adjust to socially and academically to the university. Many people asked why I wanted to be a TTL, since I was not an active transfer student during my first semester, but I believe that I could be of help to new incoming transfers that could resonate with me and my story.


Are YOU Coming to one of our Transfer Advising Days?
June 20 | August 1 | August 22 | August 24
If not, you may miss out on the
August 25 Transfer Orientation!

This does not apply if you have already
connected 
with your academic advisor
and have made your schedule.


Click Here for the 2017
Transfer Orientation Guidebook

Leave a Reply

